

International Federation for Emergency Medicine

Healthcare workers and healthcare facilities

in Ukraine must be protected.

We, the undersigned, and the organisations we represent, are united in concern for healthcare workers, their patients, and healthcare facilities in Ukraine as a result of ongoing hostilities due to the Russian invasion.

As the leading bodies representing emergency medicine healthcare professionals across the world, we strongly condemn the attacks on Ukraine. We strongly condemn all violence aimed at healthcare personnel or healthcare facilities.

We are deeply concerned at reports of attacks on hospitals and healthcare facilities in Ukraine. Continued attacks on medical facilities and personnel in Ukraine must not continue.

In Ukraine, medics are on the frontline, working tirelessly to save lives while risking their own. The sanctity and safety of healthcare workers, patients, supplies, transport, and facilities must always be respected and remain neutral. Healthcare workers must be able to provide healthcare in a safe and protected environment without disruption from acts of violence.

All parties must adhere to the international laws that govern conflict situations including the Geneva Conventions of 1949 and the UN Security Council Resolution 2286 (2016) which strongly condemns attacks against medical facilities and personnel in conflict situations.

On behalf of the global emergency healthcare workforce, we send a message of solidarity to our colleagues and friends in Ukraine: we stand with you.

We know you are continuing to help those in your care, and we see your selfless acts of bravery. We will do all that we can to support you.

Professor Sally McCarthy President, International Federation for Emergency Medicine

Dr Katherine Henderson President, Royal College of Emergency Medicine

Dr Clare Skinner President, Australasian College for Emergency Medicine

Dr Luis Daniel Sánchez Arreola President, Sociedad Mexicana de Medicina de Emergencia

Dr Chip-Jin Ng President, Taiwan Society of Emergency Medicine

Dr.Aus N. Jamil President, Iraqi Society for Emergency Medicine , Non Governmental Organization

Professor Dr Patrick Van de Voorde President, Belgian Society Emergency & Disaster Medicine

Professor Arif Alper Cevik on behalf of Board of Directors, Emergency Medicine Association of Turkey

Dr Michael von Schickfus President, Swedish Society for Emergency Medicine

Dr Richard Santos President, Philippine College of Emergency Medicine

Professor Juliusz Jakubaszko Immediate Past-President/ Honorary Treasurer Polish Society for Emergency Medicine

Dr Zsolt Bognar President, Hungarian Society of Emergency Medicine

Dr David Baden President, Dutch Society of Emergency Physician/ Nederlandse Vereniging van Spoedeisende Hulp Artsen



Dr. Gillian Schmitz President, American College of Emergency Physicians

Dr Martin M. Pin President, Deutsche Gesellschaft interdisziplinäre Notfall- und Akutmedizin e.V. (DGINA)

Dr G. Joseph Beirne President, American College of Osteopathic Emergency Physicians

Dr Amy Kaji President, Society for Academic Emergency Medicine

Dr Kåre Løvstakken President, Norwegian Society for Emergency Medicine

Dr Axel Siu President, Asian Society for Emergency Medicine

Dr Kirsten Johnson President, Canadian Association of Emergency Physicians

Dr Steven HC Lim President, Society for Emergency Medicine in Singapore

Dr Jesus Daniel Lopez Tapia President, Federación Latinoamericana de Medicina de Emergencias

Dr Henrik Ømark Chairman, Danish Society for Emergency Medicine

Professor Lisa A. Moreno President, American Academy of Emergency Medicine

Julia Morphet Executive Director, College of Emergency Nursing Australia

Sue Stebbeings Chairperson, College of Emergency Nurses New Zealand



Dr Fergal Hickey President, Irish Association for Emergency Medicine

