Royal College of Emergency Medicine Menu Menu

Dr Adrian Boyle begins term as RCEM President

4 October 2022

Dr Adrian Boyle, an Emergency Medicine Consultant at Addenbrooke’s Hospital Cambridge, was officially sworn in at the College’s Annual General Meeting on Tuesday 4 October, after being elected in March 2022.

Dr Boyle was previously Vice President Policy of the College, and will follow outgoing President Dr Katherine Henderson, who has completed her term over a challenging three years.

Dr Boyle said: “I am honoured to be starting my term as President of The Royal College of Emergency Medicine. Emergency Medicine is a fantastic specialty, and Emergency Medicine staff are hardworking, dedicated health care professionals. I look forward to working with my incoming team of Vice Presidents, College Officers, College committees, and College staff to focus on improving patient care and advocating for the specialty.

“I recognise that at this time Emergency Medicine is facing the worst crisis it has ever faced. The months ahead will bring exceptional challenges, and while I am excited to begin as President, I understand the amount of work that needs to be done, the scale of the challenges ahead, and the anxieties of patients and Emergency Medicine staff. We must mitigate the impact of winter, work to ensure we keep patients safe, and support staff and members during these difficult times.”

Speaking of his colleague and predecessor, Dr Katherine Henderson, Dr Boyle said: 

“The specialty owes an enormous debt of gratitude to Dr Henderson for her dedication to the specialty, her relentless energy and leadership during her term. The pandemic brought many challenges, and her leadership delivered for our members and for Emergency Medicine. Dr Henderson always stood up for Emergency Medicine and gave our specialty a voice that simply could not be ignored. I look forward to continuing this excellent work.”

The College also welcomed four Vice Presidents to their roles at the AGM in Belfast. In a ballot held in July, College Council members elected to four positions; two Vice Presidents; a Vice President for Membership; and a Vice President for Education and Training.

The new Vice Presidents are:

  • Dr Ian Higginson, a consultant at Derriford Hospital, who was re-elected to the post of Vice President
  • Dr Jason Long, a consultant at Queen Elizabeth University Hospital Glasgow, who becomes Vice President
  • Dr Salwa Malik, a consultant at Royal Sussex County Hospital, who becomes Vice President for Membership (replacing Dr Carole Gavin)
  • Dr Maya Naravi, a consultant at Bradford Royal Infirmary, who becomes Vice President for Education and Training.

All will hold a three-year term.

The College is pleased to welcome Dr Boyle and the Vice Presidents to their roles and wish them every success in the next three years.

The College gives its sincere thanks to Dr Katherine Henderson for her dedication and leadership over the past trying three years. Dr Henderson rose to meet a host of new and unknown challenges in the pandemic. She led the way on campaigns, advocacy and media interviews, speaking for members and patients and giving Emergency Medicine a leading voice. The College wishes Dr Henderson continued success both in and outside her roles in Emergency Medicine.

Back to top Back to top