Royal College of Emergency Medicine Menu Menu
Awards For Quality In Emergency Medicine

Awards For Quality In Emergency Medicine

Annual awards for National Clinical Impact, Clinical Studies Group, Alison Goudie Memorial Fund, Maurice Ellis award & the William Rutherford award.

RCEM Awards

+ Alison Gourdie Memorial Fund

A research grant of up to £1,250 is available to Junior Doctors, Consultants within five years of appointment and members of professions involved in the provision of emergency medical care.

Or alternatively contact:
The Royal College of Emergency Medicine
Octavia House, 54 Ayres Street, London SE1 1EU.

Tel: 020 7404 1999

+ Maurice Ellis Award

The Maurice Ellis Award recognises his pioneering work in the field of Emergency Medicine. It may be awarded every two years and presented at an appropriate event in the Royal College of Emergency Medicine calendar.

An award will next be made in 2018. Please read the nomination criteria for more information

+ William Rutherford International Award

This award by the Royal College of Emergency Medicine (RCEM) recognises the inspiring work of one of the specialty’s ‘founding fathers’, William Rutherford. William Rutherford was a pioneer of the specialty of Emergency Medicine but his dedication to service also took him to work as a doctor in rural India for 20 years. It was after his return from there, in 1967, that he became surgeon in charge of the Accident & Emergency Department of the Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast, where he worked until his retirement in 1985.

William died in December 2007 when he was in his 80s. The RCEM decided to establish an award to commemorate his life and his work, particularly recognising his work in troubled times and in areas of deprivation.

The William Rutherford International Award is made annually to an individual that has demonstrated evidence of excellence in emergency care or humanitarian activities within low- and/ or middle-income countries or settings.

The award will consist of an invitation to the recipient, as well as a collaborator of the recipients, from a low- and/ or middle-income country or setting, to co-present their work at a national RCEM conference. The Global Emergency Medicine (GEM) Committee has the responsibility for proposing the recipient to Council and liaising with the recipient.

The recipient will choose the collaborator and present her/ his details to the GEM committee for approval. The recipient and collaborator would be provided with a budget from which conference registration, accommodation and travel costs to the UK can be reimbursed.

Nominations are now open for the 2022 award and will close at 5pm on 17 June 2023.

Download the William Rutherford International Award nomination form.

Criteria for this award:

The recipient should demonstrate evidence of excellence in any of the following activities within low- and/ or middle-income countries or settings:

  • Establishing of, contributing to, leading, and/ or supporting of existing or new emergency care or humanitarian programmes, services and/ or systems;
  • building of, contributing to, and/ or supporting of emergency care or humanitarian capacity;
  • and/ or establishing of, contributing to, leading and/ or supporting of educational and/ or training activities in emergency care or humanitarian settings
  • The recipient should not have already received a similar award from another organisation, unless it is felt by the proposer that by receiving this award it would help to publicise and further expand or improve the humanitarian work of the recipient.

Potential candidates can be nominated by Fellows or Members of the RCEM. The nominee must also be a Fellow or Member of the RCEM.

+ Research Awards & Fellowships

National Clinical Impact Awards

From March 2023, National Clinical Impact Awards (NCIA) scheme applications will no longer include rankings and citations from national nominating organisations.  Applicants will now be able to seek guidance from any number of relevant membership organisations (MOs) they wish to approach.

The national Clinical Impact Awards scheme (previously known as the national Clinical Excellence Awards) has been reformed in order to broaden access to the scheme, make the application process fairer and more inclusive, and ensure the scheme rewards and incentivises excellence across a broader range of activity and behaviours. The new scheme is fairer and has a more inclusive application process designed to fully reflect the diversity of the consultant population in the NHS. Further information on the reforms can be found in the joint DHSC and Welsh Government consultation response.


Back to top Back to top